•     ai.php.gif instagramlogo.jpg

Sign in to follow this  
lazlo

pollinating just a couple branches

I have a KO kush male isolated and ready to drop a bunch of pollen.

I also have three KO kush females,and 2 killing kush females that are in about week 4 of flower

I want to pollinate a couple branches on each.

i've never tried it before,but after a long, tedious,search session for info ,here is my basic plan

:

1 at the end of the light cycle,move the selected girls out of the room

2put plastic over them except where pollination is desired

3with a paintbrush,carefully paint the chosen branches with pollen

4at the end of the dark cycle,remove plastic spray plants off with water,and return them to the room

Questions:

Is there a better way to do this?A simpler way?

Will it work?

Is that long enough time for pollination to take place?

How do YOU do it?

I don't have the option of putting them somewhere else for a few days

I spent quite a bit of time searching for info on this subject,but still am unsure of a simple,quick way to do it.

A link would be good too.

One more question,

If there is leftover pollen,how long will it be good in the fridge/freezer

Thanks for any help

Sounds like a good plan. I would not leave the plants covered in plastic for a whole dark period. When I have pollinated branches I have used a paint brush to put pollen on a couple branches, waited about an hour and then hosed the whole plant down to "de-activate" the pollen. I just wonder if the plants would get stressed being wrapped in plastic for 12 hours,?. Maybe pollinate them a couple hours before lights out, spray them down and put them to bed. I have a thread somewhere on here, forgive the lack of link, titled something like "How long for pollination?" that had some other peoples opinions. Seeds need about 4 weeks to ripen, and 6+ weeks to split their bract/fall out on their own, in my experience.