•     ai.php.gif instagramlogo.jpg

Good morning everyone,

I am a total novice and have a quick question about repotting. When should I repot? Currently, I have 7 seedlings (4 Soliloqueen, & 3 Durgan Chrital x Blue Hammer) that have sprouted and are in small 8 0z. Styrofoam cups. When should I repot them? Should i repot them a second time before harvest?

I have 3-gallon smart pots to use when I repot but only have 4. Additionally, I only have room for 4 plants but I am not limited vertically but am limited horizontally. I am also limited by my lighting with a 150w hps and two 68w CFL's. Additionally, I am growing in coco. I am not sure if this information is relevant but thougt I would include it.

Any suggestions or tips would be great!

Thank you all and have a wonderful afternoon,

Sharkshock27

There is a sweet spot for transplanting where it is certainly easier to do. Too early and you have no roots holding the soil together, too late and it suffers in the small pot. I try to transplant a day after watering as well, dry enough to mold together yet not so dry that the soil crumbles when you remove it from its pot. After growing long enough you will start to be able to determine what is going on under the plant based on what is going on above ground. Go buy some cheap seeds at home depot and practice up-potting with them if you have anywhere outside for a few small throw away veggie seedlings. Will help you at least get the feel for how it works. 8oz cups are small so I wouldn't leave them in there very long.

Your other option with throw-away cups is to just cut down the side with some scissors and unwrap the styrofoam from the soil/root mass and then plant that.

• Like 1

How big are they now ? I would let them get 3 or 4 sets of leaves started then pot up. You could put 2 in each smart pot & cull the males later. Keep veging for a while after the transplant. Next time use16 oz solo cups.

• Like 1