36 replies to this topic

#1 Gardener

Super Grower

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 250 posts

Posted 13 October 2016 - 08:54 PM

Hello everyone.

I'm a complete beginner when it comes to cannabis. I am still planning my first grow.

Lot's of people share their favorite soil recipes, with worm castings and guano and every other kind of bright idea. I am wondering about the potential for good organic soil, straight out of the bag, possibly cut with perlite/vermiculite to improve drainage, but nothing else.

Assume my room and my environment are all spot-on. Assume i have average to outstanding genetics.

If I can veg 6 plants in 3 gallon pots for six weeks and then flower for eight weeks under good quality 360 watt LEDs, but only soil and water is used, what kind of yield could i expect?

Anyone with experience growing in soil only, I would love to hear your stories. I am trying to decide whether to pursue such a grow. What kind of yield per plant could I expect?

Thanks.

#2 Snookster

Super Grower

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 757 posts

Posted 14 October 2016 - 06:14 AM

I tried a super soil once, adding only water. It didn't work out well for me. BUT....Your soil may do better. Best of luck!
Never go into a grow with great expectations
For surely, you will be disappointed!

#3 BalzaSteel

Dazed 'n' Confused

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4006 posts
  • Interests:Grokking

Posted 14 October 2016 - 06:35 AM

best answer is, it depends :)

Basically what you're talking about is "Super Soil", I could tell you all about it but you'll get more/better info if you google it, I don't think you can buy super soil in a bag.

I doubt that a plant would survive let alone do well in a 3 gallons pot and no fertilizer for 14 weeks, from what I've read growers using super soil use 5 gallon or larger.