•     ai.php.gif instagramlogo.jpg

Hello Peoples! I thought this might be an interesting topic to generate a discussion.

Mother and Father plants,

Do you have a particular technique (pruning pattern) for taking cuttings?

How long do you keep your mothers before taking a new cutting to replace her?

How do you handle genetic drift in a strain you want to keep going??

Are Father plants handle the same as moms?

Feeding Mothers and Fathers as they get older.

How often do you repot?

When repotting do you use same pot or increase in size and how often do you repot?

I have personally kept a mother going for almost 2 years, until she got so brittle the limbs fell off, so I was wondering if there's a way to prune to extend this.

These are just some general questions to start, feel free to add too!

I have my ideas on these questions, but it's always best to gather opinions from others with the same passion for growing kick ass weed, I've been popping seeds since 1971 and still learn something new everyday, mostly thanks to OG!

Best,

BQ

• Like 9

Great topic, thanks for that, baqualin!

I would like to know more about male plants because they are underrated, imho.

I saw sannie´s male in his new photogallery, since that I´am into male plants. ;)

• Like 1

Good choice for a topic. OG readers are an enlightened bunch and we always want to learn more! Excellence is what we seek!

peace

mrG

• Like 1

Since i grow mostly cuttings, i hardly come across male plants. The mother plants i don't keep very long, usually every second generation i make a new mom and throw the old one out. The way i do it works, but it isn't without flaws. Bugs keep coming back no matter what i do, namely thrips.

• Like 2