•           ai.php.gif

ledfoot

A High Volume, Low Pressure Oxygen System for Propane Glassworking Torches

This is my plan for a high volume, low pressure oxygen system for operating propane glassworking torches.

[Disclaimer: I know next to nothing about glassworking, and I am not an engineer.]

My only original bit on this system is a combo vacuum/pressure gage at the outputs of the oxygen generators. The generators (concentrators) contain sieve beds (for nitrogen removal) that can be damaged by a vacuum condition.

The concentrators are rebuilt home medical units.

I haven't built it yet but this system will run a GTT brand Phantom torch at full blast.

gallery_6205_6166_209153.jpg

The compressor is an oil-free design. Gast 86R123 Flow vs Pressure graph:

gallery_6205_6166_55451.jpg

The system will be assembled in a rack of 2x4 foot wire shelves.

gallery_6205_6166_91808.jpg

Detail of the Condor brand four-port pressure switch.

gallery_6205_6166_2902.jpg

Right now, I'm waiting for some parts and I need to clear my install space.

I've decided to move to another location before I build a glass studio.

This is a commercially available HVLP system:

If you want to know more about the concentrators:

In case anyone is wondering why I'm posting this here, it is because the president of the High Volume Oxygen company has threatened to sue people (including serving papers, I guess).  The (BS) HVO patents are here: https://www.highvolumeoxygen.com/patents/

Background: http://www.talkglass.com/forum/showthread.php?64885-oxygen-frog-verses-high-volume-oxygen-pro-and-con-im-leaning-toward-frog-thanks-craig